dana/xcompmgr.git
11 years agoSave ConfigureNotify events for unmapped windows until the window maps. If a window... fixobiconfify
Dana Jansens [Fri, 15 Feb 2008 05:55:17 +0000 (00:55 -0500)]
Save ConfigureNotify events for unmapped windows until the window maps.  If a window moves while it is unmapped, it should not affect its fade-out.

11 years agoregister the _NET_WM_CM_S hint with the correct screen number
Dana Jansens [Fri, 15 Feb 2008 05:09:11 +0000 (00:09 -0500)]
register the _NET_WM_CM_S hint with the correct screen number

11 years agoRemove some spurious code
Dana Jansens [Fri, 15 Feb 2008 04:39:46 +0000 (23:39 -0500)]
Remove some spurious code

If the window is fading out, then the new fade-in will execute the finish_unmap/destroy, and that will kill the pixmap already.

11 years agoMake shadows, fading, and opacity based on the window type. Add support for the...
Dana Jansens [Fri, 15 Feb 2008 04:38:32 +0000 (23:38 -0500)]
Make shadows, fading, and opacity based on the window type.  Add support for the extended window type atoms.  Add a "-m" option to set opacity for menu windows.

11 years agoFix some rare memory leaks and behaviour when a mapped window is reparented away...
Dana Jansens [Thu, 14 Feb 2008 22:28:40 +0000 (17:28 -0500)]
Fix some rare memory leaks and behaviour when a mapped window is reparented away from root

When a window that is mapped is reparented away from root, that is the same as it being completely unmapped+destroyed from our persective.  The window will no longer be in the same position on screen, and we will no longer want to listen to events on it.
Prior to this, the w->pixmap would not be freed when a mapped window was reparented away from root, and damage would not be updated for the screen correctly.

11 years agoFixes for window fade-outs
Dana Jansens [Thu, 14 Feb 2008 21:57:38 +0000 (16:57 -0500)]
Fixes for window fade-outs

When a window resizes while it is unmapped, don't destroy it's pixmap, as that kills and fade going on.
If a window is already unmapped (and therefore already fading out, don't override the fadeout with a new one when the window is destroyed.
When a window maps, if it already has a pixmap, this is stale data, so free it so that a new pixmap can be retrieved from the newly mapped window.

11 years agoFix a server resource leak on destroying windows. upstream
Dana Jansens [Wed, 13 Feb 2008 19:24:32 +0000 (11:24 -0800)]
Fix a server resource leak on destroying windows.

12 years agoBug #13073: Fix broken word-wrapping in ChangeLog generation.
Jamey Sharp [Mon, 5 Nov 2007 17:32:44 +0000 (09:32 -0800)]
Bug #13073: Fix broken word-wrapping in ChangeLog generation.

Thanks to Peter Dyballa <Peter_Dyballa@Freenet.DE> for pointing out the
bug.

12 years agoAdd *~ to .gitignore to skip patch/emacs droppings
James Cloos [Mon, 3 Sep 2007 09:51:17 +0000 (05:51 -0400)]
Add *~ to .gitignore to skip patch/emacs droppings

12 years agoRemove deprecated .cvsignore
James Cloos [Fri, 24 Aug 2007 01:21:52 +0000 (21:21 -0400)]
Remove deprecated .cvsignore
The repo already has a .gitignore, so just rm the old .cvsignore.

Also removed a blank line from .gitignore.

12 years agoMake this loop slightly easier to read.
Tilman Sauerbeck [Mon, 12 Mar 2007 13:44:31 +0000 (14:44 +0100)]
Make this loop slightly easier to read.

12 years agoConstified some variables.
Tilman Sauerbeck [Mon, 12 Mar 2007 13:24:33 +0000 (14:24 +0100)]
Constified some variables.

12 years agoInclude getopt.h for getopt().
Tilman Sauerbeck [Mon, 12 Mar 2007 13:18:25 +0000 (14:18 +0100)]
Include getopt.h for getopt().

I think this should be portable. If it isn't, please yell at me and
I'll add the necessary autoconf magic.

12 years agoAdded .gitignore.
Tilman Sauerbeck [Mon, 12 Mar 2007 12:38:59 +0000 (13:38 +0100)]
Added .gitignore.

12 years agoFixed a bunch of warnings.
Tilman Sauerbeck [Mon, 12 Mar 2007 12:37:32 +0000 (13:37 +0100)]
Fixed a bunch of warnings.

12 years agoBug #9762: Fix opacity changes on unmapped windows.
Mark Tiefenbruck [Thu, 25 Jan 2007 20:05:02 +0000 (15:05 -0500)]
Bug #9762: Fix opacity changes on unmapped windows.

12 years agoincrease version number to 1.1.3
Dave Airlie [Thu, 21 Dec 2006 07:36:33 +0000 (18:36 +1100)]
increase version number to 1.1.3

12 years agoremove changelog from xcompmgr
Dave Airlie [Thu, 21 Dec 2006 07:36:08 +0000 (18:36 +1100)]
remove changelog from xcompmgr

12 years agoBug #2703: Fixed a memory leak in the fading code.
Tilman Sauerbeck [Sun, 3 Dec 2006 12:15:39 +0000 (13:15 +0100)]
Bug #2703: Fixed a memory leak in the fading code.

13 years agoSet the _NET_WM_CM_S* atom on the screen we're running on.
Tilman Sauerbeck [Wed, 6 Sep 2006 17:04:47 +0000 (19:04 +0200)]
Set the _NET_WM_CM_S* atom on the screen we're running on.

14 years agoBump to 1.1.3 for anholt's named window hack XCOMPMGR_1_1_3
Adam Jackson [Mon, 31 Oct 2005 17:57:40 +0000 (17:57 +0000)]
Bump to 1.1.3 for anholt's named window hack

14 years agoAdd the foreign flag so autotools doesn't incorrectly slap a GPL on this,
Eric Anholt [Fri, 7 Oct 2005 05:40:26 +0000 (05:40 +0000)]
Add the foreign flag so autotools doesn't incorrectly slap a GPL on this,
    and add a .cvsignore for cvs up clarity.

14 years agoMake a dummy window with a name, so xrestop can point its finger at
Eric Anholt [Fri, 7 Oct 2005 00:08:02 +0000 (00:08 +0000)]
Make a dummy window with a name, so xrestop can point its finger at
    xcompmgr for being such a pig.

14 years agoBug #2391: Fix a use-after-free in run_fades. (Jonathan Briggs) XCOMPMGR_1_1_2
Adam Jackson [Thu, 27 Jan 2005 21:03:39 +0000 (21:03 +0000)]
Bug #2391: Fix a use-after-free in run_fades. (Jonathan Briggs)

14 years agoInclude the autogen.sh in the distfile.
Eric Anholt [Thu, 27 Jan 2005 01:27:44 +0000 (01:27 +0000)]
Include the autogen.sh in the distfile.

15 years agoMake xcompmgr distcheck and have a sane package name/version, and bump
Eric Anholt [Sat, 16 Oct 2004 22:53:09 +0000 (22:53 +0000)]
Make xcompmgr distcheck and have a sane package name/version, and bump
    version to 1.1.1.

15 years agoModified paint_all so that it doesn't draw off-screen windows, and doesn't
dolio [Wed, 29 Sep 2004 18:33:42 +0000 (18:33 +0000)]
Modified paint_all so that it doesn't draw off-screen windows, and doesn't
    draw shadows on desktop 'root' windows.

15 years agobump version number
Adam Jackson [Mon, 27 Sep 2004 18:06:03 +0000 (18:06 +0000)]
bump version number

15 years agoAdded command-line options for changing values relevant to fading.
dolio [Thu, 23 Sep 2004 07:17:48 +0000 (07:17 +0000)]
Added command-line options for changing values relevant to fading.

15 years agoMiscellaneous code cleanup and failed allocation checks.
dolio [Thu, 23 Sep 2004 01:56:00 +0000 (01:56 +0000)]
Miscellaneous code cleanup and failed allocation checks.

15 years agoAdded shadow precomputation for large-enough windows.
dolio [Tue, 21 Sep 2004 22:59:38 +0000 (22:59 +0000)]
Added shadow precomputation for large-enough windows.

15 years agoPrint the version number in the usage summary.
Adam Jackson [Mon, 20 Sep 2004 21:36:07 +0000 (21:36 +0000)]
Print the version number in the usage summary.

15 years agoAdded various options for client-side shadows (offset, opacity,
dolio [Sat, 18 Sep 2004 00:13:15 +0000 (00:13 +0000)]
Added various options for client-side shadows (offset, opacity,
    blur-radius) based on the work of Thomas Luebking, along with the man
    entries and usage information to go along with them.

15 years agoChanged the usage function to display information on the available options.
dolio [Fri, 17 Sep 2004 23:51:48 +0000 (23:51 +0000)]
Changed the usage function to display information on the available options.

15 years agoAdded allocation failure checks in shadow_picture and caused it to exit
dolio [Fri, 17 Sep 2004 05:20:35 +0000 (05:20 +0000)]
Added allocation failure checks in shadow_picture and caused it to exit
    gracefully rather than writing to unallocated memory.

15 years agoBug #1360: Fix a segfault by checking the return value of XQueryTree.
Adam Jackson [Tue, 14 Sep 2004 19:01:16 +0000 (19:01 +0000)]
Bug #1360: Fix a segfault by checking the return value of XQueryTree.
    (Johan Kiviniemi)

15 years agoMore effects, bug fixes, doc updates. XCOMPMGR_1_0
Adam Jackson [Fri, 10 Sep 2004 05:55:19 +0000 (05:55 +0000)]
More effects, bug fixes, doc updates.

15 years agoadd a man page
Adam Jackson [Thu, 9 Sep 2004 03:27:16 +0000 (03:27 +0000)]
add a man page

15 years agoRemove abort call as it's just annoying. Add -a flag to just use Automatic
Keith Packard [Sat, 14 Aug 2004 21:39:51 +0000 (21:39 +0000)]
Remove abort call as it's just annoying. Add -a flag to just use Automatic
    compositing. No glitz, but no screen mangling either.

15 years agoAdd name window pixmap support
Keith Packard [Fri, 13 Aug 2004 08:25:51 +0000 (08:25 +0000)]
Add name window pixmap support

15 years agoEliminate 'struct timezone tz' as it isn't used.
Keith Packard [Thu, 8 Jul 2004 16:30:59 +0000 (16:30 +0000)]
Eliminate 'struct timezone tz' as it isn't used.
reviewed by: Keith Packard

15 years agoAdd fade-in/fade-out support (-f option). Clean up leak of solid alpha
Keith Packard [Thu, 8 Jul 2004 07:07:26 +0000 (07:07 +0000)]
Add fade-in/fade-out support (-f option). Clean up leak of solid alpha
    picture per redraw of constant-alpha windows.

15 years agoOnly use XCompositeNameWindowPixmap when the library provides it
Keith Packard [Sun, 27 Jun 2004 21:29:23 +0000 (21:29 +0000)]
Only use XCompositeNameWindowPixmap when the library provides it

15 years agoMake composite manager mode run-time selectable with command line option:
Keith Packard [Sun, 27 Jun 2004 05:08:33 +0000 (05:08 +0000)]
Make composite manager mode run-time selectable with command line option:
-s: server-side shadows (sharp, but follows window alpha)
-c: client-side shadows (blurred, but uses window extents only)
-n: no shadows (this is the default mode)

15 years agoOk, this synchronizes all of my changes for the last many months. Has code
Keith Packard [Sun, 27 Jun 2004 04:48:37 +0000 (04:48 +0000)]
Ok, this synchronizes all of my changes for the last many months. Has code
    to do server-based shadows (SHARP_SHADOW). Has code to try and ignore
    appropriate errors (helps somewhat). Has code to handle global window
    translucency. Lots of other minor changes.

15 years agoAutoconf 2.57 appears to work fine, as well.
Eric Anholt [Tue, 18 May 2004 00:01:50 +0000 (00:01 +0000)]
Autoconf 2.57 appears to work fine, as well.

15 years agoSet INCLUDES, not xcompmgr_INCLUDES.
Phil Blundell [Wed, 31 Mar 2004 21:54:22 +0000 (21:54 +0000)]
Set INCLUDES, not xcompmgr_INCLUDES.

15 years agoNew.
Phil Blundell [Sun, 28 Mar 2004 12:02:50 +0000 (12:02 +0000)]
New.

15 years agoAutotoolized:
Phil Blundell [Thu, 25 Mar 2004 23:57:55 +0000 (23:57 +0000)]
Autotoolized:
New files.
Likewise.
Deleted.

15 years agoTrack whether cliplists have changed and avoid computation when not. Shrink
Keith Packard [Tue, 2 Dec 2003 09:51:12 +0000 (09:51 +0000)]
Track whether cliplists have changed and avoid computation when not. Shrink
    shadows. Speed up shadow construction a bit by using memset. Eliminate
    useless INTERVAL code. Use XSync after paint_all to gather more events
    per update.

16 years agoAdd support for CM_TRANSLUCENT property.
Keith Packard [Mon, 24 Nov 2003 17:11:00 +0000 (17:11 +0000)]
Add support for CM_TRANSLUCENT property.
reviewed by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>

16 years agoRename gussianMap to gaussianMap (who the heck is gus?) Allow for other
Keith Packard [Sun, 23 Nov 2003 23:20:42 +0000 (23:20 +0000)]
Rename gussianMap to gaussianMap (who the heck is gus?) Allow for other
    names for the root pixmap Handle non-zero border widths better (need
    Composite change to display them though). Add MONITOR_UPDATE mode that
    eliminates double buffering and blanks the screen to make sequence of
    update operations visible. Leave damage object around to catch map
    damage right. Add CirculateNotify support.

16 years agoFix for latest Xfixes changes.
Eric Anholt [Sun, 23 Nov 2003 21:10:34 +0000 (21:10 +0000)]
Fix for latest Xfixes changes.
Submitted by: <stephan@wilkogazu.nl>

16 years agoEliminate several compiler warnings: missing includes, static functions,
Carl Worth [Wed, 19 Nov 2003 16:12:15 +0000 (16:12 +0000)]
Eliminate several compiler warnings: missing includes, static functions,
    unused variables. Remove confusing informational messages with the word
    "error" in them.

16 years agoRemove local changes to Makefile
Matthew Allum [Fri, 14 Nov 2003 19:32:41 +0000 (19:32 +0000)]
Remove local changes to Makefile

16 years agoMade gussian_map get called just once rather than N times
Matthew Allum [Fri, 14 Nov 2003 19:27:00 +0000 (19:27 +0000)]
Made gussian_map get called just once rather than N times

16 years agoEliminate all delays in updates; let the X server scheduling handle things.
Keith Packard [Fri, 14 Nov 2003 08:29:37 +0000 (08:29 +0000)]
Eliminate all delays in updates; let the X server scheduling handle things.

16 years agoReduce scheduling latency to 10ms
Keith Packard [Thu, 13 Nov 2003 09:18:07 +0000 (09:18 +0000)]
Reduce scheduling latency to 10ms

16 years agoUse an alpha map instead of an ARGB picture for shadows. Update last_update
Keith Packard [Thu, 13 Nov 2003 09:16:18 +0000 (09:16 +0000)]
Use an alpha map instead of an ARGB picture for shadows. Update last_update
    only when actually updating windows.

16 years agoDetect ARGB windows, don't give them shadows, compose them correctly.
Keith Packard [Tue, 11 Nov 2003 08:59:15 +0000 (08:59 +0000)]
Detect ARGB windows, don't give them shadows, compose them correctly.

16 years agoTrack changes to _XROOTPMAP_ID property
Keith Packard [Mon, 10 Nov 2003 18:34:35 +0000 (18:34 +0000)]
Track changes to _XROOTPMAP_ID property

16 years agoAdd a bit of scheduling to updates; update every 30 ms instead of waiting
Keith Packard [Mon, 10 Nov 2003 05:48:23 +0000 (05:48 +0000)]
Add a bit of scheduling to updates; update every 30 ms instead of waiting
    for more events. Smooths out window moving. Interval needs to be
    configurable probably.

16 years agoMake sure _XROOTPMAP_ID property is right type, format and length before
Keith Packard [Mon, 10 Nov 2003 05:09:10 +0000 (05:09 +0000)]
Make sure _XROOTPMAP_ID property is right type, format and length before
    attempting to use the resulting value.

16 years agoConfigure damage must include shadow region, not just window. Also, leaking
Keith Packard [Mon, 10 Nov 2003 04:46:24 +0000 (04:46 +0000)]
Configure damage must include shadow region, not just window. Also, leaking
    region on each configure.

16 years agooops. Left in an XSynchronize call.
Keith Packard [Mon, 10 Nov 2003 03:48:00 +0000 (03:48 +0000)]
oops. Left in an XSynchronize call.

16 years agoDouble buffer updates. Check for InputOnly windows and ignore them
Keith Packard [Mon, 10 Nov 2003 03:45:17 +0000 (03:45 +0000)]
Double buffer updates. Check for InputOnly windows and ignore them

16 years agoDetect root pattern with undocumented _XROOTPMAP_ID property
Keith Packard [Mon, 10 Nov 2003 02:03:26 +0000 (02:03 +0000)]
Detect root pattern with undocumented _XROOTPMAP_ID property

16 years agoAdd drop shadows.
Keith Packard [Mon, 10 Nov 2003 01:32:01 +0000 (01:32 +0000)]
Add drop shadows.

16 years agoPrototype X compositing manager. initial
Keith Packard [Sun, 9 Nov 2003 07:08:23 +0000 (07:08 +0000)]
Prototype X compositing manager.

16 years agoInitial revision
Keith Packard [Sun, 9 Nov 2003 07:08:23 +0000 (07:08 +0000)]
Initial revision